A recent workshop had a powerful impact on participants. Some of the things participants said on their written evaluations included:

 

  • “I learned that ti takes two most situations can be resolves without violence.”
  • “I learned to think before I react, that there is always a choice I can make before I decide to go of the handle.”
  • “I need to work more on my temper – I get irritated easily.”
  • “To me, AVP is a great project and I would love to be a part of it in the future.”
  • “I learned it’s up to me to choose a better response, that I can find a betterway to cope and react.”
  • “I learned that thinking before reacting, showing empathy, and using “I” Statements are helpful.”
  • “AVP is a great program – it was nice to know that we all are alike in many ways.”
  • “I learned that I can stand up for myself and still be nonviolent.”
  • “I learned how to talk it out and be heard respectfully.”
  • “AVP is an amazing place to go to” It is AWESOME
  • “I learned about “I” Messages, speaking in a different tone.”
  • “I have good in me and I can pursue better. AVP is a good start to working on breaking the cycle.”
  • “AVP is a great place, and has become my family.”
  • “I learned that I need to listen more and calm down.”
  • “AVP is amazing and I recommend it to everyone. I will for sure be taking it again.”
  • “Talking about a problem is going to work better than violence.”
  • “AVP is a powerful way to deal with difficult situations.”
  • “I can become the positive person I want to be. AVP is a lifestyle and affirming the way to live and have peace with self and others. Awesome!”